Sfakia Sky Marathon


What a way to end the season!

Since the «Sfakia Sky Marathon» was announced, I had considered running (or at least trying to), but the timing was not right. I was in the middle of my working season, and my body was not in shape. I had no time to prepare myself for a trail running race like this.

Nevertheless, the event was scheduled for October 30, and that was the end of the busy season. I had to test myself against Lefka Ori (White Mountains), the mountain range where the event takes place, the 43 km of distance, the 3.000 meters of positive, and 2.400 meters of negative altitude difference.

So that rainy Saturday morning I was on the boat from Sfakia to Loutro, where the start of the race was! I remember joking with some of the participants just before the event, and then trying hard to complete the event. There was rain, fog, mud, and a lot of rocks! However, everyone was in a positive mood, and the volunteers at the food station, and at the check points, were very helpful. Τhe whole event was very enjoyable. The only downside, in my opinion, was that the route was not circular but rather back and forth. Nonetheless, it left me with the most unforgettable memories!

A challenging but beautiful trail running race. “Sfakia Sky Marathon” was the right way to end my season working as a trekking guide!

Αφήστε ένα σχόλιο/Leave a Reply